Foursquare, the location based social network, has alerted its users about coming privacy changes which are going to take effect this month. The most notable change among others is the announcement by Foursquare that it will now display full names of its users. Foursquare has emailed its users about the details of the new changes that are going to take effect from 28th Jan, 2013. The changes announced by foursquare have been accepted by the users without any hue and cry which was witnessed in the case of Instagram last month.
The New York based social network said in the email that it is showing partial names or full names at different times which has become a bit confusing for the users. In order to end this confusion, Foursquare has decided to shift to full names. However, it gave the option to its users to change their names in their account setting any time.
Businesses will also be able to get more information about Foursquare users who check in at a business place. Previously businesses could only get information about users who had checked in at the place during the last three hours. Foursquare said:
“This is great for helping store owners identify their customers and give them more personal service or offers. A lot of businesses only have time to log in at the end of the day to look at it. So, with this change, we’re going to be showing them more of those recent check-ins.”
Foursquare has also reminded its users in the email that they can chose to remain anonymous for the businesses by changing settings in their accounts and unchecking the “location information” box.